PRESIDENTS COUNCIL – June 3, 2008 CC 126 in Bill Brod Community Center • 8:30 – 10am

Present: **Presidents Council Members**: Joanne Truesdell, College Pres; Kate Gray, FT Faculty Pres; Colleen Brown, FT Classified Pres; Rosemary Teetor, PT Faculty Pres; Tim Lussier, ASG Pres; Steffen Moller, College Council Chair; Baldwin van der Bijl, VP Instructional Services; Courtney Wilton, VP College Services; Shelly Parini, College Advancement; Jan Godfrey, Extended Learning; BJ Rinearson, Director of Human Resources; Anne Donelson, Director of Public Affairs; Bill Leach, Exempt; (Recorder) Sheri Schoenborn. **Incoming Presidents Council Members**: Bill Waters, President Elect FT Faculty; Michael Vu, President Elect ASG. **Employees in attendance**: Diane Drebin, Joe Austin, Dave Arter, Past President FT Faculty.

TOPIC/CATEGORY	KEY POINTS/NEXT STEPS (ACTION)
Spring Planning Open House Update	 Shelly Parini: Update given on Spring Planning Open House Event Very organized, easy to follow Photos taken and file started for next accreditation visit Great attendance (100+) Very positive feedback, with connections being made across the campus. Fishbone activity went well NEXT STEP: Institutionalize without calcifying the process and keep the momentum going.
Medical Insurance Renewal Update	 Courtney Wilton: Updated Handout distributed with cost comparisons between existing health insurance (HealthNet and Kaiser) and OEBB (Providence and Kaiser.) Three Forums will be held with broadcast and FYI reminders of dates/times/place. Need to get a sense of what college community would like to do. Association's feedback is critical to help make final decision. Many plans within OEBB, but we will only offer a few of the plans. NEXT STEP: Decision has to be made by June 23 rd .
In-Service Update	 BJ Rinearson: Handout distributed giving information and timeline on planning for upcoming 2008 In-Service Activities. In-Service committee has met several times and will be meeting again this afternoon Still room available on committee if more are interested. Would like representation from Health Sciences area. An email will be sent out asking for thoughts and ideas on training ideas. Goal to have framework of program done before staff leave for summer. Committee is open to ideas, support, and feedback.

	• Theme is still being defined with a possible title of "Redefining Ourselves & Our Future".
	NEXT STEP: BJ will report back to PC as information becomes available.
Enrollment Update	 Diane Drebin & Baldwin van der Bijl: Update given on Year to date (YTD) and Spring numbers Within 1% of our YTD target of 7200 – 60 short right now. Analysis done by Department from Spring 2007 to Spring 2008. Of the 35 departments across the campus, 15 were up substantially by over 10% and 5 were down more than 10%. Another comparison done from 2 year perspective, 20 departments were up substantially and 7 were down. Advanced College Credit is up substantially (442 last year, 559 FTE this year) With this information came several questions: Numbers go up and down based on grant funded programs. How do we build this into future tracking and budget processes? How do deans manage projections for next year, developing companion pieces that work with strategic planning? NEXT STEPS: Continue to give updates as they become available. SEM update will be given at next Expanded Presidents Council meeting on 6/24/08.
Update on VP of Instructional Services Search	 Jan Godfrey: VP of Instructional Services position will remain open through the summer. One viable candidate will be interviewed next week. There will be a Forum held in the fall, bringing forward top candidates for position. NEXT STEPS: Joanne will be meeting with instructional services deans regarding ideas to keep momentum going on interim support for VP position. An internal interim person will need to be identified until position is filled.
Harmony Move/Grand Opening	 Bill Leach: Harmony moves will begin as follows: The first of next week Rm 170 will be moved to OIT 154 6/16 – GED moving 6/30 – Materials will be moved 7/7-11 – Staff moves will take place 7/11-16 – DeJardin moves to Harmony 7/16-19 – Customized Training moves to DeJardin 7/21- Aug – Abatement process and demolition of Harmony building 9/17 – Grand Opening ceremonies at Harmony in the early afternoon Designated smoking areas at Harmony are in the discussion stages.
Around the Table Updates	 Kate Gray / FT Faculty Election results are in with 89 votes submitted. Eric Lewis was elected as vice president, Bill Waters is incoming president.

	 Faculty is busy preparing for end of term and graduation.
	Rosemary Teetor / PT Faculty Election process finishes today – results will be made public tomorrow.
	 Tim Lussier & Michael Vu / ASG Planning and goal setting for next year has begun. BBQ and party for childcare grant children held last week.
	Bill Leach / Exempt ■ New officers will be elected soon ■ End of year gathering will be planned.
President's Report Next Meeting	 Joanne Truesdell Extended an invitation for all to attend the MOU signing between OSU and CCC today at 11:30 in CC 127. Light refreshments will be served. Attended Oregon Presidents Council meeting last week. Discussion focused on student based funding model that Governor is presenting - \$621 million to support community colleges. Two capital construction fund projects discussed – Harmony Phase II and OUS Transfer Center on Oregon City Campus.
	 The governor may add specific funds for Career and Technical Education programs. \$2.7 million for health care will be worked into budget annually. Foundation event last week had 12 new inductees for endowments. Presidents Council: June 10 at 8:30 a.m. in CC126

UPCOMING MEETING DATES in 2007-08:

6/24 (expanded), 7/15 (expanded), 8/12 (expanded), 9/9, 9/16 (expanded), 9/30,10/7, 10/14, 10/21 (expanded), 10/28

FIND PRESIDENTS COUNCIL NOTES at F:\1MINUTES\Presidents Council\2007-08

NUMBER OF HANDOUTS TO BRING: Presidents Council – 20 copies; Expanded Presidents Council – 35 copies

PRESIDENTS COUNCIL MEMBERS: Joanne Truesdell, Baldwin van der Bijl, Courtney Wilton, Shelly Parini, Jan Godfrey, Anne Donelson (Director of Public Affairs), Steffen Moller (Current Chair of College Council), Sheri Schoenborn or Debbie Jenkins, (Recorder), Colline Brown (Clsfd Pres), Kate Gray (FTF Pres), Bill Leach (Exempt Pres), Rosemary Teetor (PTF Pres), Tim Lussier (ASG Pres), BJ Rinearson (Director of Human Resources) **EXPANDED COUNCIL MEMBERS:** PC Members plus Joe Austin, Bill Briare, Diane Drebin, Scott Giltz, Karen Martini, Maureen Mitchell, Chris Robuck, Theresa Tuffli and Bill Zuelke